Comparison · From vendor websites
Granola vs Fathom
Should I use Granola or Fathom for my meeting notes?
Choose Granola for bot-free notes without a replayable archive, Android capture or custom templates. Choose Fathom for free recordings, downloadable video and clips, or paid CRM field sync and coaching. Fathom Free limits advanced summaries to the first 5 calls each month after a 30-day Premium preview. Its bot-free desktop capture is a Mac beta. Granola Basic shows 30 days in the app; eligible older notes can be exported as CSV. — as of October 2026
Published
Updated
We have not run hands-on tests yet. We aim to review facts every 90 days, but vendor terms can change sooner.
Compare plans and meeting notes
Prices and limits are as of October 2026. “Not stated” means the cited pages do not give that detail, not that there is no limit. Vendor qualifications appear in the relevant row.
| Feature | Granola | Fathom |
|---|---|---|
| Free meetings and lengthChecked Vendor sources | Basic is free. No daily transcription limit; monthly meeting or minute quota and formal maximum meeting length: not stated. Mobile help warns that recordings roughly 10 hours or longer may fail to process.as of | Free includes unlimited live recordings and transcription, with no monthly recording count limit. Advanced summaries cover only the first 5 calls each month, then only the General/Enhanced template is available. New accounts get a 30-day Premium preview. Pricing also marks Ask Fathom as limited use on Free. Maximum meeting length: not stated.as of |
| History and retentionChecked Vendor sources | Basic shows the last 30 days in the app; older notes remain stored, not deleted. Business and Enterprise offer unlimited history. Notes and transcripts are retained unless deleted; users can configure transcript auto-deletion, and Enterprise can enforce a workspace policy. Transcript deletion does not delete notes.as of | Free and Premium recordings are stored indefinitely unless manually deleted. Enterprise retention policies must be requested from Fathom support; they are not self-serve. The retention guide describes deleting recordings; the organization-settings guide says recordings, transcripts and summaries.as of |
| Monthly paid pricingChecked Vendor sources | Business: $14 per active seat/month, billed monthly. Enterprise: pricing page shows $35 per user/month; billing help says from $35. Every active workspace member uses the same plan. Dollar currency code is not stated.as of | Per user/month, billed monthly: Premium $20; Team $19; Business $34. Team and Business require at least two users. Enterprise: contact sales; price not stated. The visible page uses $; its structured data specifies USD.as of |
| Yearly paid pricingChecked Vendor sources | Annual billing is available only on Enterprise contracts. Annual price or discount: not stated. Business is monthly only.as of | Per user/month equivalent, billed yearly: Premium $16; Team $15; Business $25. Team and Business require at least two users. Enterprise: contact sales; yearly price not stated. The visible page uses $; its structured data specifies USD.as of |
| Capture and platformsChecked Vendor sources | Bot-free system-audio and microphone capture on macOS and Windows, with iOS and Android apps. Works with meeting audio playing on the computer. The web interface views and edits existing notes; it cannot capture meetings.as of | Mac and Windows support Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams meetings. Choice of bot capture or bot-free capture; bot-free is a Mac beta, not yet on Windows. iOS app available. Android capture and browser-only capture: not stated in the device guide.as of |
| In-person meetingsChecked Vendor sources | Mobile microphone capture supports in-person conversations on iOS and Android.as of | The iOS app records in-person conversations. Other mobile in-person platforms: not stated in the device guide.as of |
| Saved recordings and uploadsChecked Vendor sources | No replayable audio/video archive or recording downloads. Desktop transcription help says audio/video is never recorded or saved. Both mobile help and the security FAQ describe temporary audio caching until transcription completes, then deletion from Granola and third-party systems; the FAQ gives no platform qualifier. Prerecorded file uploads are not supported.as of | Keeps meeting recordings, with unlimited call downloads and clips on Free. Prerecorded call uploads are not supported.as of |
| Transcripts, exports and downloadsChecked Vendor sources | View and copy transcripts. CSV export covers full history, including notes older than 30 days on Basic: titles, summaries, transcripts and other details, but only owned notes with summaries; deleted notes are excluded. Export is enabled on Basic and Business, disabled by default on Enterprise unless an admin enables it. The owner's share menu copies enhanced notes and their link as Markdown, not the transcript.as of | View transcripts and copy them to the clipboard; direct transcript file download is not offered. Recordings download as MP4; the download guide says MP3 is coming, not currently available. Enterprise admins can disable recording downloads.as of |
| LanguagesChecked Vendor sources | 31 transcription languages on desktop; 17 on mobile.as of | 38 transcription languages. The language guide separately lists translated summaries in six languages for Premium and Team users.as of |
| TemplatesChecked Vendor sources | Custom note templates are included on Basic, on macOS and Windows. Organization sharing requires a company email domain and reaches users on that same domain; free email providers such as Gmail and Yahoo do not get the sharing dropdown.as of | Pricing says over 15 meeting templates. Free: advanced summaries for the first 5 calls/month, then General/Enhanced only; Premium: unlimited advanced summaries. Custom-summary eligibility conflicts: individual help lists Premium, the pricing Business card includes custom summaries, and the pricing feature table marks them Enterprise-only. Confirm eligibility before paying.as of |
| Sharing and foldersChecked Vendor sources | Notes are private unless shared. Share links, use shared folders, copy enhanced notes and their link as Markdown (not the transcript), or send notes by email. Shared folders are included on Basic.as of | Share recording links with video and transcript. Access can be anyone with the link, the same domain or named people. Team adds collaboration with comments and folders; organization settings can restrict access.as of |
| Integrations and CRMChecked Vendor sources | Basic includes Slack. Business adds Notion, Zapier, HubSpot, Attio and Affinity integrations, plus API access. Enterprise lists advanced integrations such as Salesforce.as of | Notion via Zapier or Make, not a native integration. Pricing marks Zapier/Make limited use on Free and Premium; individual help describes personal-use Zapier. CRM sync is capped at 3 users per email domain on Free, Premium and Team in pricing; individual help confirms Free/Premium for HubSpot, Salesforce and Close. Vendor pages also list Slack, Asana, Claude, ChatGPT, public API and MCP. Business adds CRM field sync, Deal View and coaching scorecards.as of |
| Security and model trainingChecked Vendor sources | Vendor states SOC 2 Type II certification. Granola may use anonymized data to improve its models unless you opt out; Enterprise is opted out by default and admins can enforce it. The vendor says its agreements prevent service providers from training their own models on your data.as of | Vendor states SOC 2 Type II compliance. AI subprocessors are contractually prohibited from training on user data. Fathom uses de-identified data to improve its own models; individuals and Team organizations can opt out.as of |
| Team administration and SSOChecked Vendor sources | Business includes centralized billing and user management. Enterprise adds sharing controls, transcript retention policies, usage analytics, SSO and SCIM. Billing help qualifies SSO as for teams with 50+ users.as of | Team plans have administrator organization settings. Enterprise adds security controls, support-requested retention and SSO. SCIM sources conflict: pricing lists Okta SCIM and the SSO guide says Okta-only, while a separate guide documents Microsoft Entra ID SCIM enabled by Fathom support. The SSO guide says SAML supports any identity provider.as of |
Choose Granola if
- You want notes and a transcript without keeping an audio or video archive. See saved recordings and uploads — as of October 2026
- You need bot-free Windows capture or Android capture, rather than a Mac-only bot-free beta. See capture and platforms — as of October 2026
- You want to create custom note templates on the free plan. See templates — as of October 2026
Choose Fathom if
- You want an ongoing free recording archive instead of a 30-day in-app note history. See history and retention — as of October 2026
- You need downloadable recordings to review or share, rather than notes alone. See transcripts, exports and downloads — as of October 2026
- Your team needs CRM field sync and coaching scorecards, and can pay for Business. See integrations and crm — as of October 2026
Questions before you choose
Can I use either without a meeting bot?
Yes, with device restrictions. Granola uses bot-free device audio. Fathom offers bot-free capture as a Mac beta; its Windows app still uses the previous experience. See Capture and platforms for the vendor sources. — as of October 2026
Which free plan keeps older meetings accessible?
Fathom stores Free recordings indefinitely unless deleted. Granola Basic shows 30 days in the app, but older notes remain stored and eligible owned notes with summaries can be exported as CSV. See History and retention and Transcripts, exports and downloads. — as of October 2026
Can I upload a recording I already have?
Neither vendor supports prerecorded meeting uploads in the cited guides. Both are intended for live capture. See Saved recordings and uploads. — as of October 2026
Does bot-free mean the meeting stays on my device?
No. Granola sends audio to a transcription provider and retains notes and transcripts. Desktop transcription help says audio is never saved. Mobile help and the security FAQ describe temporary caching until transcription completes, then deletion; the FAQ gives no platform qualifier. Granola provides no replayable archive. See Saved recordings and uploads and Security and model training before choosing for sensitive meetings. — as of October 2026
Sources
We reopened vendor pricing and help pages without signing up or testing either product. These are vendor statements, not independent security assessments. Tool pages keep separate check dates.
Free meetings and length
Checked on · Back to table row
History and retention
Checked on · Back to table row
- https://www.granola.ai/pricing
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/managing-your-account/subscriptions-and-billing.md
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/consent-security-privacy/security-privacy-data-faqs.md
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/consent-security-privacy/transcript-auto-deletion.md
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/296448
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/6057089
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/3239681
Monthly paid pricing
Checked on · Back to table row
Yearly paid pricing
Checked on · Back to table row
Capture and platforms
Checked on · Back to table row
In-person meetings
Checked on · Back to table row
Saved recordings and uploads
Checked on · Back to table row
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/taking-notes/transcription.md
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/ios/transcription.md
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/consent-security-privacy/security-privacy-data-faqs.md
- https://www.granola.ai/pricing
- https://www.fathom.ai/pricing
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/296448
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/6049729
Transcripts, exports and downloads
Checked on · Back to table row
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/taking-notes/transcription.md
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/sharing/exporting-notes.md
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/sharing/sharing-notes.md
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/296000
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/7974977
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/3239681
Languages
Checked on · Back to table row
Templates
Checked on · Back to table row
Sharing and folders
Checked on · Back to table row
Integrations and CRM
Checked on · Back to table row
Security and model training
Checked on · Back to table row
Team administration and SSO
Checked on · Back to table row
- https://www.granola.ai/pricing
- https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/managing-your-account/subscriptions-and-billing.md
- https://www.fathom.ai/pricing
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/3239681
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/450624
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/14122433
- https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/6057089
Related tools and guides
Granola features and pricing · Fathom features and pricing · AI meeting note takers · Best free AI meeting note takers

